Northeastern University
Interdisciplinary Science and Engineering Complex 
Alexandria Real Estate Equities
Lab/Office Building at 75/125 Binney Street 
Princeton University
Frick Chemistry Laboratory
Amherst College
New Science Center 
Georgetown University
Science Facilities Master Plan and Regents Hall Science Center 

Robert J. Schaeffner, FAIA, LEED AP

Upon joining Payette in 1981, Bob became part of the firm’s expansion into research facility design. After completing seminal research projects for leading institutions such as Massachusetts General Hospital and Princeton University, he led the firm’s first academic project: Severance Chemistry Addition/Renovation at the College of Wooster.

Seeing this as an opportunity to further expand the practice, Bob helped develop Payette’s strong presence in college/university science facility planning and design. His seminal 1998 Article “Recovering from Sputnik” recognized the trend that the plethora of science buildings built in the 1960s and 70s (in the post-Sputnik era) were all failing in their systems, but more importantly, in how they served the rapidly changing world of science education.

He has led a number of science center projects at prestigious colleges and universities which have positively transformed entire campus precincts.

B.Arch., 1981, Rhode Island School of Design
BFA in Architecture, 1980, Rhode Island School of Design
New Jersey Institute of Technology, 1976‑78, School of Architecture


Adam Anderson
Manager of Landscape Architecture

Denise Ivy Dea
Studio Manager

David Hamel
3D Visualization Group Manager

Lauren Hickey
Marketing Manager

Christopher V. Lind, PHR
Human Resources Manager

Parke MacDowell
Fabrication Manager

Jeff Minard
Facilities Manager

Steve Seaver
Accounting Manager


Doran Abel, AIA, LEED AP
Jeffrey Abramson, AIA, LEED AP
Adam Anderson, LEED AP

Christian Blomquist, AIA
Elizabeth Cox, AIA, LEED AP
Mary Gallagher, IIDA, LEED AP

Gordon Grisinger

David Hamel
Abby Klima, AIA
Alison Laas, AIA, LEED AP

Nick LaVita, AIA, LEED AP
Michael P. Liporto, AIA
Parke MacDowell
Shaun Morris, AIA
Ryan Murphy, RA, LEED AP
David Pawlak, AIA
Erin Polansky, IIDA, LEED AP
Michael J. Quinn, AIA, CSI, CCS, CCCA, LEED AP
Christopher Stansfield, AIA, LEED AP
Diana Tsang, AIA, LEED AP
Megan van der Linde, AIA, LEED AP